IT’S SO FLUFFY

As a knitter you might think my hobby is knitting.

It’s an easy mistake to make but let me assure you that YOU ARE WRONG.

650416f695db8367f70eaadfbaac7c61

Sweet, sweet yarn is my true addiction; much to my boyfriend’s amused disgruntlement.

bdfe4e3279209c751e90b707aae47ab7

This holiday, I found what might just be the best, softest, amazingest yarn in the world. Where did such a thing come from, you wonder?

Think of the cutest thing you can imagine. Now add on a meter of fluff and you have the ANGORA BUNNY RABBIT – an adorably soft creature created only for cuddles…

Englishangora
THIS IS A REAL RABBIT

… And yarn.

I found my yarn nirvana (yarnvana?) this holiday when I stumbled on a skein of 50% merino 50% angora bunny yarn in a small, quirky, hippie owned shop in Bathurst. Heartfeltsa just dabbles in yarn – their main product is felted items and mainly felted HATS: the Crocs of the headgear world – extremely cozy and warm, yet put one on and you can comfortably add on a dork factor of 10.

While perusing their gorgeously creative collection my yarn sense started tingling, and my eyes snapped to the two skeins hidden near their work area.

‘Ah, you’ve found the softest thing in here,’ drawled a felt-bedecked hippie with a sweet, smiley baby on his lap. ‘That’s Angora bunny yarn.’

My heart stopped for a second.

BUNNIES.

BUNNY YARN.

YARN FROM BUNNIES.

I NEED DIS.

download (2)

Me and my family, all browsing the shop, were a little worried initially that they hurt the bunnies in some way but Happy Hippie assured me that they brush the bunnies to get their soft, soft fluff and wind it from there.

23a8b3c63045ed982de2843197aa2f96

The bunnies all live on small farms around the Eastern Cape (the farms were started years ago, decided to be unfeasable for some reason, but the end result is there are some Angora bunny farms in South Africa). He even showed us the type of brush they use and assured us it was all done lovingly.

This also means that it’s someone’s JOB to brush bunnies all day!

OH MY GOSH.

CommentPhotos.com_1392063191

Now what to do with this glorious find? I realised this Christmas that I rarely make things for myself, so I am going to spoil ME MYSELF I with this wondiferous bunny yarn and make myself a soft lace scarf. How delicious!

images

And who knows? Maybe it will imbue me with magical bunny powers…

Like this werebunny!
Or maybe not!

3 thoughts on “IT’S SO FLUFFY

Leave a comment