Crafty update

I have been such a busy crafting bunny that I haven’t blogged about what I’ve been up to in ages. It’s partly because the crafts progress slowly, stitch by stitch, and it’s hard to know when it’s interesting again. But below is an assortment from my Instagram feed and more of what I’ve been up to… and what’s coming!

One of a Kind beanie_Runny Babbit
I bought beautiful soft and warm merino yarn from One of a Kind yarns, and decided to knit up a cosy beanie for my fab boyfriend! We were going away on game drives and there’s nothing colder than an icy morning drive. I struggled a bit to get the sizing right, and ended up having to unravel and then decrease drastically to get it human instead of ogre size. The top puckers a bit, but it was so popular that all my family members have requested one.
IMG_20140619_080023
The dashing boyfriend in his completed beanie
baby blanket_runnybabbit
I’ve been working on this gorgeous baby blanket for quite a while, even though I did the bulk of the body on the knitting machine. It’s a gorgeously soft 3-ply elle Baby Soft yarn, in Oyster, White and Aqua – the mommy to be’s nursery colours. She’s having twins so I’ve just started on the second blanket! I’m illustrating here the hand knit border, which I unravelled 3 times before getting the knack of it. I picked up in the round, increased in the corners and used an applied i-cord for the edge. I learnt a lot of new skills, and think the second blanket should go much faster!
baby blanket_RunnyBabbit
My second attempt at knitting a border in the round…
runny babbit
The blanket all wrapped and ready to go!
cross stitch_runny babbit
A cross stitch for my fabulous aunts – it celebrates their marriage with a funny twist for my aunt’s 60th birthday. She helped change the South African marriage laws so she could marry her partner of 20 years and they could legally co-parent my adopted cousins.
crossstitch_runnybabbit
The cross stitch a bit further along – I love the little brides and the rainbow! The border takes depressingly long to make so I’m going to have to knuckle down this week.
runny babbit
A secret project for Your Family magazine… look out for the August issue!
cross stitch_baby_runny babbit
A cross stitch for a mommy-to-be – we have 3 of them in my office at the moment! It’s going to be stitched on linen, so will be a little nit-picky, but she’s in love and it will be an elegant touch to her nursery. I better get cracking!!
blanket_yourfamiy_runny babbit
My first attempt at a blanket, also machine knitted with a hand-stitched border. The pattern appeared in the May Your Family magazine (cover below). If I’d known about the applied i-cord I would have used that for a bright neon finish instead of the stocking stitch, which required a lot of steaming and stitching on.

YFmaypgOutsideFRONTCover_FINAL_RRR

cabled boot cuffs
I tried my hand at cabling when I designed these cabled boot cuffs for Your Family magazine’s June issue, an elegant touch for winter! I had to learn how to cable for the pattern, but found it quite simple and fun. I used I Love Yarn’s Imagine range of bamboo yarn, and it slips on easily. I love using local, hand-dyed products.

 

One thought on “Crafty update”

Leave a Reply

