Beanies, headbands and more

I don’t know why but from toddler-dom I loved wearing things on my head – anything from hats, to headbands and beanies – and from a young age I was a stylish go-getter.

20140419_175438
Look at me, stylishly go-getting.

So naturally as an adult, and a knitter, beanies and headbands fly off the needles and land gently on people’s heads at an astronomical rate (I’m a really quick beanie knitter). I’ve knitted a surprising amount of head gear in the year and a bit since I picked up the needles and have a few more projects lined up to tackle after the market.

Here’s a round up of what I’ve created so far:

Crowns

crown
Cute knitted crowns
crown
A previous version of the crown – this one waaay too big for a child and it was stiffened for the photoshoot. This, as you can see, was a huge mistake. The crown is a bit floppy off the head but when worn it lies flat against the head.
IMG-20140903-WA0010
Nthabi wanted her own grown up crown (this pic taken from her instagram) and loved the crocheted flowers and pearls.

Beanies

matt4
My brother Matt wearing the beanie I made him.

matt2

matt3

IMG_20131207_141850
My youngest brother with the rainbow beanie I made him – which he requested and then promptly lost.
riochard-beanie
I knitted this for El Boyfriendo for a trip to Pilansberg, out of a lovely soft merino wool made and dyed by my favourite local store, One of a Kind.
Little Viking helmets for little Viking twins!
Little Viking helmets for little Viking twins!

Head bands

These are some of my favourite things to knit – quick, classy and simple!

jess5

jess4
Jess in her headband – I love this gorgeous mottled look with little crochet flowers.

jess3

IMG_20140417_095310
Chevaun in her simple knitted headband, the first I made.

IMG_20140416_162958

20140505_095111

And then of course there are some things I’ve made that you never think people would put on their heads…

IMG-20140317-WA0007

One thought on “Beanies, headbands and more”

Leave a Reply

