knitted square

Baby blues cabled blanket | Free pattern

There is nothing quite as daunting, for a relatively newbie knitter like me, than knitting a blanket. I’m a big fan on ‘quick wins’ and love knitting things like beanies, gloves and toys – challenging, but relatively fast and you can have a lot of fun with different yarns.

But after making a few blankets on my knitting machine (only hand knitting the borders) I decided to challenge myself for Your Family magazine. I still plan on publishing the pattern there – when I finish. But in the meanwhile I thought I’d publish the pattern for the cabled square here since I’m quite proud of it. The wonderful Elaine, creator, yarn dyer and owner of the truly magical I Love Yarn in Pretoria collaborated with me in choosing the yarn colours – she has a creative touch with colour and yarn combinations.

She has a gorgeous collection of pastels
She has a gorgeous collection of pastels

I decided to keep the blanket light, and went with the I Love Yarn Imagine range, dyed by Elaine. It’s a bamboo-cotton blend and wonderfully silky and light. I find it a bit of a mission to knit with, especially with cables as it tends to slip, but it feels so great it’s worth being a bit of a hassle.

webe_MG_3334

Initially this was going to be a baby blanket but I decided to go full hog and make it a big blanket for my brother (I plan on making a blanket for each of my nearest and dearest). I’ve still got a loooooong way to go and might decide to integrate in greys, whites and creams as I go too.

webe_MG_3295 webe_MG_3298 webe_MG_3302

I didn’t want to publish an adapted pattern in a magazine like Your Family and so designed my own cabled square pattern – kind of like the crocheted granny square, this gives me freedom to change up the design as I go and add colours as I become inspired.

webe_MG_3305

Abbreviations
c/on-off – cast on-off, k – knit, p – purl, sts – stitches, C8B – cabled pattern

Special stitches
C8B – slip 4 sts to cable needle, hold in back, k4, k4 from cable needle

YOU WILL NEED

  • 4mm knitting needles
  • Cable hook

TO MAKE

C/on 34 sts.

Rows 1, 5, 7, 9, 11: k12, p1, k8, p1, k12
Rows 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12: p12, k1, p8, k1, p12
Row 3: k12, p1, C8B, p1, k12

Repeat pattern 3 times. C/off.

You can find this pattern on Ravelry too.

I used the ‘thumb’ method or long-tail cast on for a neat cast one edge, but you can use whatever works for you! For me the squares measured around 13cm x 13cm but gauge doesn’t really matter here – it will just change how many squares you have to make to finish the blanket in the size you desire.

I’ll publish the pattern for the actual blanket once I’ve managed to finish it… one day! I still have to work out how I want the pieces to look together, how many squares you need, and the border.

Can’t wait!

4 thoughts on “Baby blues cabled blanket | Free pattern”

Leave a Reply

