One of a Kind yarn

Irene Market photodiary and One of a Kind yarns

I absolutely love markets, and one of my favourites, from childhood, is Irene Market in Pretoria. I remember going there as a young child and getting thumb-sized porcelain dolls that I loved briefly and passionately, and climbing over the tanks they have parked around the edge of the market with my brothers . Every year, they host a collection of fantastic Christmas markets, with incredible food (try the mango ice-cream!), great, handcrafted products and just a wonderful vibe.

Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (13)
The beaded animals are a bit cliche, but some are quite breathtaking and the hours that go into these creations is often ignored. I loved this friendly, me-sized giraffe at the market.
Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (10)
Bunting everywhere!
Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (22)
They also sell lovely flowers at the market.

Now that I’m older, and my interests have changed, I’ve fallen completely in love with the comparatively new yarn stall called One of a Kind. The name is quite precise since the yarn is, quite literally, one of a kind. They are all dyed once off out of a passionate love for colour on quite spectacular, well priced yarn bases (bamboo, merino – their one-ply merino is something else, and cotton amongst others).

Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (3)

Whenever I see them, I go full Viking berserk, and end up spending far more than anticipated. It’s so hard to choose, and knowing that you’ll never have another chance to get them…! Though I have a lot stacked away in my yarn stash, I often find I’ll have a project in mind and the gorgeous, uniquely coloured yarns from One of a Kind will flit into my mind.

Herringbone cowl (23)
Like this herringbone cowl! I used a rainbow merino 1ply for the gorgeous colour effect. I’ll be publishing the pattern soon.

Herringbone cowl (13)

I picked up some fantastic yarns from the market yesterday, some with specific projects in mind, others just for their beauty. There is so much to choose from – and I wasn’t even there at 8am when the stall is absolutely chock-a-block.

Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (2) Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (5) Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (6) Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (4)

Here are some of the beauties I picked up.

Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (31)
My haul!
Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (31)
Adore the subtle colours in this bamboo wool.
Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (31)
My heart sings with these colours.
Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (31)
I’m going to make my little brother Angus a psychedelic beanie out of this gorgeous self-striping merino wool.
Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (31)
Bunnies!
Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (48)
Noooooooooo idea what to do with this gorgeous bamboo yarn.
Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (43)
My friend Ali calls this ‘My Little Pony’ wool. I kind of see what she’s saying…
Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (41)
Close up. Those speckles!
Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (40)
Este helped me choose merino wool to suit the wool I bought in the UK, to make my boyfriend a scarf. LOVE this.
Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (39)
A strong, vibrant green. I’m going to make my boyfriend’s brother a lovely pair of gloves with this merino wool – but maybe knitted together with something else.

And here are some more snaps from the market! Head there if you’re near Pretoria/ Johannesburg, it is a lovely day out.

Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (9) Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (11) Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (12) Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (14)

For the garden!
For the garden!
This hand made soap is incredible. This one is made with licorice and smells amazing. It's by Angelfactory (angelfactory.co.za)
This hand made soap is incredible. This one is made with licorice and smells amazing. It’s by Angelfactory (angelfactory.co.za)

Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (18) Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (19)

Lovely detail from one of the stalls.
Lovely detail from one of the stalls.

Irene market and One of a Kind yarn (21)

6 thoughts on “Irene Market photodiary and One of a Kind yarns”

  1. You are your grandmother’s child (and definitely one-of-a-kind!) I expect you to start carding, dyeing and spinning your own wool shortly. Love the market photos!

Leave a Reply

