Protea yarn baby booties2

Quick knit baby booties to die for | I Love Yarn Protea

If you need a quick prezzie, whether for a baby shower, Christmas or something else, I’ve got the pattern for you.

Protea yarn baby booties

 

The charming Bows Before Bros pattern is quick, suuuuper simple knit that makes really cute baby booties.

You’ll find the free pattern on Ravelry. I used 2.75mm needles to make them a little bigger for the baby in question, and used the bigger option of the pattern, (those newborn things get too small so quickly!) especially as I’m not sure when exactly I’ll see the cutie. I made them over the weekend, in between baking birthday cakes, renovating the house, pickling gherkins and blitzing basil salt – so they are really are fast!

web_MG_7989

web_MG_7968

webe_MG_8021

web_MG_7973

 

webe_MG_8024

web_MG_7960

The yarn I used is by I Love Yarn, one of my favourite local yarn shops. They sell gorgeously curated international yarns, and dye their own too. The Imagine range is fabulous (I’m using it to make my Baby Blues Cabled blanket) and though I love the colours of the Protea range, I can’t say it’s my favourite yarn.

web_MG_7613

The pros are that it’s pure wool, and has a stunning pastel colour range.

web_MG_7569

web_MG_7629

web_MG_7554

However, the wool itself is a little scratchy and as a 4 ply it’s hard to justify the time the knit will take. They make great baby booties, but I’m not sure what else I’d make with it!

web_MG_7996

What’s your favourite quick knit baby pattern?

And thanks to my gorgeous hand schmodel Promise – a promising young writer with a fantastic blog on local artists.

promise xaba

webe_MG_8066

webe_MG_8071

webe_MG_8087

webe_MG_8076

webe_MG_8103

2 thoughts on “Quick knit baby booties to die for | I Love Yarn Protea”

Leave a Reply

