Chocolate mint lip balm

I’ve wanted to make beauty products for close to a year now. DIY soaps, body scrubs and bath salts all look like a lot of fun, so when I got a copy of ‘Soaps, Bubbles & Scrubs: Natural products to make for your body and home’ (Struik Lifestyle) by Nicole Seabrook I knew this was going to be the year of the beauty product.

chocolatelipbalm_runnybabbit44

Needless to say, I only started making products around November, just in time for Christmas. But hey, at least I made them, right?!

I wanted something relatively quick and easy for my colleagues, and I also wanted it to be irresistibly delicious.

Enter this chocolate and mint lip balm.

chocolatelipbalm_runnybabbit25

chocolatelipbalm_runnybabbit1

chocolatelipbalm_runnybabbit19

chocolatelipbalm_runnybabbit2

chocolatelipbalm_runnybabbit29

The biggest issue was getting a hold of the ingredients – I struggled to find shea butter and beeswax. I eventually got shea butter from a health shop (this was by far the priciest ingredient), but I’d recommend looking for beeswax from your local farmers market where you know it’s good quality, local stuff. I also used Lindt dark chocolate because in a product like this, quality really rings through.

chocolatelipbalm_runnybabbit10

chocolatelipbalm_runnybabbit8

This recipe uses tiny amounts of products so I’d recommend doing what I did, which was to make ten times the recipe. This is far more measurable (60g vs 6g!), and makes great gifts (for teachers and the like).

chocolatelipbalm_runnybabbit7

I used 25ml bottles and made close to twenty with these measurements.

chocolatelipbalm_runnybabbit13It’s really a pretty great recipe, and my boyfriend even nicked a bottle because it smells so delicious and is so moisturising. Unlike other lip balms, it doesn’t chap your lips and doesn’t need constant application.

chocolatelipbalm_runnybabbit5

chocolatelipbalm_runnybabbit45
And with some stickers it can look really cute!

Here’s the extract below:

DARK CHOCOLATE AND MINT LIP BALM

This recipe includes dark chocolate! I first used this recipe for a kid’s workshop and the children loved the idea of using real chocolate in their lip balm, a really tasty treat for the lips – sweet chocolate and cool peppermint – with shea butter to help prevent dry and chapped skin.

Makes 2 small jars

Ingredients

  • 25ml grapeseed oil
  • 4g beeswax
  • 10ml shea butter
  • 6g dark chocolate
  • 2 drops peppermint essential oil

To make

  1. Place the grapeseed oil, beeswax, shea butter and dark chocolate in a saucepan and heat gently until everything is melted.
  2. Remove from the heat and add the essential oil. Stir well.
  3. Pour carefully into lip balm containers.

How do I use the lip balm? Apply a small amount to the lips as needed.

Extract used with permission from ‘Soaps, Bubbles & Scrubs: Natural products to make for your body and home’ (Struik Lifestyle) by Nicole Seabrook

Thanks to my model Selina – follow her fantastic Instagram account here and check out her proudly African hair website here. 

chocolatelipbalm_runnybabbit42chocolatelipbalm_runnybabbit16chocolatelipbalm_runnybabbit27

 

 

One thought on “Chocolate mint lip balm”

Leave a Reply

