6 creative Instagram accounts you need to follow

I’ll admit it, I’m a bit of a social media junky! But it takes a while to sift through all the suggested accounts and find some great ones that really add value and inspiration to your feed. So I decided to share some accounts that really bring joy and creativity to my life – which then filters down into my craft room!

As a creative, Instagram is my playing field and I love that it’s filled with beautifully curated content. I’ve found Pinterest has become cluttered as the platform increases in productivity, but Instagram is still a way to connect and be inspired by content you choose to follow and not just random pictures people like.

Here’s six accounts you’ll love to follow.

Mount Royal Mint 

🌬electric fairy floss💅🏻 #ponystyle #unicorn 🦄

A post shared by @mountroyalmint on

I adore her beautiful felted creations, the detailed embroidery, and the sheer whimsy her beautifully styled photos bring to my feed. I’m inspired to add delicate details to my knits (especially if they’re toys).

Aroha Knits

This has to be one of my top knitting acounts. Not only are her pics stunning, her knitting designs beautiful and her words inspiring, she also posts some fabulous tips and tricks. She’s a must follow!

Moonrise Whims 

Stitching stitching stitching over here. Here's a peek at another ugh hoop in a floral heart 💕 Also now available in the shop!

A post shared by Hand Embroidery 🥀 Renee (@moonrisewhims) on

Damn is this some funky stitching! Moonrise Whims makes beautiful and funny embroidery designs that inspire me to take up the needle. I love her feminism range, and her skull and flower sets. Totally worth the follow.

One of a Kind

Indie yarns are possibly my favourite things ever (just look at how packed my craft room is with all types of bamboo, cotton, merino and alpaca yarns in beautiful colours!). Marlene dyes yarns for her online shop One of a Kind (soon to be a physical shop too) and she’s currently doing an Instagram series where she posts a crochet photo a day.

Loop London

Visiting this yarn store in London was pretty much a pilgrimage for me in July last year, and their Instagram feed is a beautiful collection of vintage finds, lovely sewing and knitting / crochet gadgets, knitting and yarns.

Cowgirl Blues 

This South African yarn is exemplary, and the indie dyer travels to Japan and other countries for inspiration and yarn connections. I’m working on a yarn review of their delicate silk and kid mohair blend, and I love her beautifully curated yarn pics.

You can follow me on Instagram too!

Leave a Reply

