4 reasons I should craft more

It’s THAT time of the year.

The December holidays feel as out of reach as a mirage in the desert, and work sits heavily on the body. Waking up is hard, work is hard, getting to sleep is hard. And it’s at this time I find myself working ridiculous hours: prioritising myself less and less. I stop eating properly, I stop exercising, and worst of all, I stop creating too!

tumblr_oe6lgpno481qiuiebo1_540

(I’m also organising a wedding, but hey, let’s stick to the work thing.)

It’s when I’m stressed and overwhelmed that I stop crafting and creating, and that’s really when I should look after myself even more. Here are some reasons why I (and hey, you too) should priotise crafting even when you feel like you’re bogged down.

1. Knitting and crochet have the same benefits as meditation

herringgone_runnybabbitcrafts

If you knit or crochet, you won’t be surprised to hear this. The repetitive motion of knitting and crochet have been proved to have the same benefits as meditation: it’s calming, and that’s why they’ve been named ‘active meditation’.

2. Hands on activities give a tangible sense of satisfaction

coffee bod scrub_runnybabbitcrafts (2)

I don’t know about you, but I find a lot of my work is intangible. The satisfaction I get from a hand made craft – whether it’s curtains we use, a body scrub I can touch or a knitted toy or piece of clothing – is a very different, very real sense of accomplishment to the feeling I get from my work. The resurgance of crafts and DIY shows that people stuck in the ‘business’ of work are finding great pleasure in making things with their hands again.

3. It reduces stress

chocmilo_runnybabbitcraftsai

A recent study proved that creative activities reduce stress and actually help with healing illness. To quote this article from the Huffington Post: “In our always-on, always-connected world of television, social media, and on-demand everything, it can be stupidly easy to spend your entire day consuming information and simply responding to all of the inputs that bombard your life.”

4. It’s important to prioritise yourself

AfricanExpressionHarmony_runnybabbitcrafts (23)

If you don’t look after yourself, who else will? It’s important spend time treating yourself as importantly as you treat your work, and some people do this through creating and giving space to their left brains. I do it through time with my fiance, walks with my pets, cooking for my friends, and yes, crafting too. And it’s time I remember that.

You can be sure that I’m going to carve out some knitting, sewing and cooking time over the next week – no matter how stressed I get.

3 thoughts on “4 reasons I should craft more”

  1. So true!
    I have two young boys and craft is my outlet, my “thing”, and I go bonkers if I don’t get to create at least one little thing each day.
    Craft is wonderful.

  2. I agree wholeheartedly! Another point about crafts, and an important one missed by the education systems that have removed crafts from their curriculum, is that it teaches you a multitude of skills: Creative problem solving; hand-eye coordination, and single-minded focus, to name a few! All of those can be translated into other areas of our lives, and are vital skills to have, in managing day-to-day events…

Leave a Reply

