Warm doggie jackets

I loved quickly sewing up these jackets for my sweet greyhound, Sophie.

Greyhounds NEED winter jackets because they, like models, they are very thin and have no natural defenses.

40956-fashion-winter-fashion
A helpless model in the wild.

Sophie gets FREEZING in winter, and often wakes us up as her blanket falls off during the night. We always buy her jackets, but with my new sewing machine and deep love in my heart, I decided to make her some pretty, dapper coats. I’ve knitted her one before, which took AGES to make – it was in beautiful moss stitch with cotton lining – and she chewed it off shortly after I put in on her , so I thought sewing her one would be a lot quicker, more easily adjustable, and cosy warm as I’d use fleecing or something similar.

img-20161012-wa0003I used a Simplicity pattern called 2303, and used pattern C, which I adjusted to fit Sophie’s teeny tiny waist.

The pattern was pretty cheap, and easy to follow, and I chose some lovely soft and warm winter fabrics for her. I loved the leopard print as greyhounds always look very deer-like in my opinion.

I had to adjust the chest width and the band to fit her properly, and make the back a lot narrower than it appeared in the pattern initially. As you can see, the pattern was designed for wide dogs, so it needed a little trimming.

I also ended up lining the jackets with t-shirt material; this was because using the fluffy fabric got very static and that made her uncomfortable. It was challenging to make it tight enough to stay on, but loose enough to be flexible for sitting and lying down.

However, no matter what adjustments I made, Sophie still ended up chewing it off. My theory is that she hates things around her neck, and charges around so much during the day it gets hot and she can’t take it off.

Here she is modelling her wares:

crayfish_kreef_runnybabbitcrafe
Sophie in her coat
crayfish_kreef_runnybabbitcraff
I ADORE this fabric
crayfish_kreef_runnybabbitcrafk
It works for prancing…
crayfish_kreef_runnybabbitcrafh
Pats in the park
crayfish_kreef_runnybabbitcrafn
Running!
crayfish_kreef_runnybabbitcrafm
Looking elegant (as always)
crayfish_kreef_runnybabbitcrafi
Everything needs a good sniff
crayfish_kreef_runnybabbitcrafl
Sophie with our little fluffy doglet, Wookie
crayfish_kreef_runnybabbitcrafp
Playing!
crayfish_kreef_runnybabbitcraft
I made her a leapord print version too, with a collar
crayfish_kreef_runnybabbitcrafu
Such a sweet face!
crayfish_kreef_runnybabbitcrafd
I had to wrap this all around her, and she has a very narrow chest
crayfish_kreef_runnybabbitcrafc
It works lying down too
Leave a Reply

